DRAFT - Minutes of the 27th Pioneer Library System Annual Meeting Wednesday, Oct 5, 2016 Bristol Harbour Lodge, Canandaigua, NY 14424

The business meeting was called to order at 12:07pm by PLS Board President Carolyn Lyons. She welcomed everyone and introduced special guests:

- Representative for Senator Young Julie Schmidt
- Community Representative for Senator Pat Gallivan Annie Chwiecko
- Representative for Congressman Chris Collins Chris Catt
- Representative for Congressman Tom Reed Andrew Wilber
- Candidate for NYS Senate Pam Helming
- Richmond Town Supervisor Nathan VanBortel
- RRLC Executive Director Kathy Miller
- Finger Lakes Library System Deb Geier and Executive Director Sarah Glogowski
- Wayne-Finger Lakes BOCES School Library System Director Kate Hammill
- and Keynote speaker Justin Hoenke.

Carolyn next introduced the Pioneer Library System trustees and asked them to stand. Representing:

- Ontario County –Mary Ellen Darling and Ruby Morrison
- Wyoming County –Patricia Edwards & Carolyn Lyons
- Livingston County Christine Ryan & Kathleen Hartness;
- Unable to attend: Merton Bartels and John Lester (Wayne County), and Joanna Whelan (Central Library)

The attendance report was given by Pioneer Library System trustee Mary Ellen Darling: 139 people attended the meeting; 53 library trustees were present, and 32 member libraries were represented. [Finalized count after the meeting was 143 attendees, 52 trustees, and 32 libraries represented.]

Before any motions were made, the president reminded everyone that voting members are the trustees present and asked them to stand and say their name when making a motion.

President Carolyn Lyons asked for a motion to accept the minutes from last year's annual meeting of October 14, 2015.

Motion 1: Carolyn Meisel, Wadsworth Library trustee, moved to accept the minutes from the October 14, 2015 annual meeting. Chris Ryan, Pioneer Library System and Avon Free Library trustee, seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

Nominations were opened to fill the trustee positions of: Joanna Whelan (Central Library representative) and Carolyn Lyons (Wyoming County representative) whose terms end December 31, 2016.

Motion 2: Santa Abraham, Geneva Library trustee, on behalf of the Central Library nominated Ellen Mitchell to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2021.

With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared nominations closed. The motion carried unopposed.

Motion 3: Nancy Burns, Director of Stevens Memorial Community Library, on behalf of the Wyoming County Library Advisory Council, nominated Jeffrey Clark to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2017 through December 31, 2021.

With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared nominations closed. The motion carried unopposed.

Motion 4: President Carolyn Lyons accepted a motion from Ruby Morrison, Pioneer Library System trustee, to adjourn the business meeting. Jane Stephens, Town of Gainesville Public Library trustee, seconded.

The motion carried unopposed.

Meeting adjourned at 12:13pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanne Hayes, Recorder Drafted October 5, 2016