Minutes of the 25th Pioneer Library System Annual Meeting Wednesday, October 8, 2014 Bristol Harbour, 5410 Seneca Point Rd., Canandaigua, NY 14454

The business meeting was called to order at 6:48 p.m. by PLS Board President Carolyn Meisel. Carolyn welcomed everyone and introduced special guests Williamson Town Supervisor James Hoffman, keynote speaker John Chrastka, and Kate Hammill, Director, of the School Library System, Wayne Finger Lakes BOCES.

Carolyn introduced the Pioneer Library System trustees and asked them each to stand: representing the Central Library, Joanna Whelan; representing Wayne County, Pic [Cornelia] Schade; for Ontario County, Mary Ellen Darling; for Wyoming County, Carolyn Lyons and Pat Edwards; and representing Livingston County, Chris Ryan and Carolyn Meisel; unable to attend tonight, John Lester (Wayne County).

The attendance report was given by Pioneer Library System trustee Chris Ryan: 166 people attended the meeting—70 library trustees were present, and 30 member libraries were represented.

Before any motions were made, the president reminded everyone that voting members are the trustees present and asked them to stand and say their name when making a motion.

Motion 1: President Carolyn Meisel asked for a motion to accept the minutes from last year's annual meeting of October 9, 2013.

Mary Ellen Darling, Phelps Community Memorial Library/Pioneer Library System trustee, moved to accept the minutes from the October 9, 2013 annual meeting. Joanna Whelan, Geneva Public Library/Pioneer Library System trustee, seconded and the motion carried.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

Nominations were opened to fill the trustee positions of: Anne Mancilla (Ontario County representative), and Pic Schade (Wayne County representative) whose terms end December 31, 2014; and the unexpired term of Pat Lind, October 9, 2014-December 31, 2017.

Motion 2: Rebecca Bundinger-Mulhearn, Director of the Avon Free Library, on behalf of the Livingston County Public Library Advisory Council, nominated Chris Ryan to serve the unexpired term of Pat Lind, October 9, 2014 – December 31, 2017. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion 3: Patricia Baynes, Director of the Palmyra Community Library, on behalf of the Wayne County Library Advisory Council, nominated David Jankowski to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2019. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion 4: Leah Hamilton, Director of the Phelps Community Memorial Library, on behalf of the Ontario County Public Library Advisory Council, nominated Ruby Morrison to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2015 through December 31, 2019. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion 5: President Carolyn Meisel accepted a motion from Tom Whitmore, Wadsworth Library trustee, to adjourn the business meeting. Chris Ryan, Pioneer Library System trustee, seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m.

Respectfully submitted, Jeanne Hayes, Recorder Drafted October 8, 2014 Approved: October 14, 2015