## Minutes of the 23rd Pioneer Library System Annual Meeting Wednesday, October 10, 2012 Inn on the Lake, Canandaigua, NY 14424

The business meeting was called to order at 6:33 p.m. by PLS Board President John Zornow. He welcomed everyone and introduced special guests East Bloomfield Town Board Member Jay Mitchell; Gainesville Town Supervisor Tom Dixon and his wife Lynelle; Williamson Town Supervisor James Hoffman and Town Board member Michael Bixby; Pioneer's Liaison to the Division of Library Development Mary Beth Farr; and Keynote speaker Rebekkah Smith Aldrich.

John next introduced the Pioneer Library System trustees and asked them to stand: representing Wyoming County, Sandra Kushner and Carolyn Lyons; for Livingston County, Carolyn Meisel and Fran Smith; for the Central Library, Joanna Whelan; for Wayne County, Pic [Cornelia] Schade and John Zornow himself; and for Ontario County, Joe Wilson, and unable to attend, Anne Mancilla.

The attendance report was given by Pioneer Library System trustee Fran Smith: 170 people attended the meeting—80 library trustees were present, and 36 member libraries were represented.

Before any motions were made, the president reminded everyone that voting members are the trustees present and asked them to stand and say their name when making a motion.

**Motion 1**: President John Zornow asked for a motion to accept the minutes from last year's annual meeting of October 12, 2011.

Wadsworth Library trustee, Terry Browne so moved, seconded by Joanna Whelan, Geneva Library & Pioneer Library System trustee. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

## **Old Business**

There was no old business.

## **New Business**

Nominations were opened to fill the trustee positions of Fran Smith, the Livingston County representative, and John Zornow, the Wayne County representative, whose terms end December 31, 2012.

**Motion 2**: Carolyn Meisel, on behalf of the Livingston County Public Library Advisory Council, nominated Patricia Lind to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2013. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

**Motion 3**: Gail Grinnell, on behalf of the Wayne County Public Library Advisory Council, nominated John Lester to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2013. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

**Motion 4**: President John Zornow accepted a motion from Linda Clark Benedict, Newark Public Library trustee, to adjourn the business meeting. It was seconded by Floyd Welker, Ontario Public Library trustee. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Meeting adjourned at 6:39 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanne Hayes, Recorder Approved October 9, 2013