Minutes of the 22nd Pioneer Library System Annual Meeting Wednesday, October 12, 2011 Valley Oak Event Center, Geneseo, NY 14454

The business meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by PLS Board President Nancy Bauder. She welcomed everyone and introduced special guests Bill Heaney, representing Senator Catharine Young, with his wife Eva Heaney; Bill read a letter from Senator Young who regretted not being able to attend and applauded the collaborative work libraries do that allows greater access to resources and services for all library users.

Nancy next introduced the Pioneer Library System trustees and asked them to stand: representing Wyoming County, Sandra Kushner and Linda Morris; for Livingston County, Carolyn Meisel and Fran Smith; for the Central Library, was Nancy Bauder herself; for Wayne County, John Zornow, and unable to be present [Cornelia] Pic Schade; and for Ontario County, Anne Mancilla, also unable to be present.

Nancy also introduced the evening's keynote speaker Anne Panning, and her husband Mark Rice.

The attendance report was given by Pioneer Library System trustee Carolyn Meisel: 158 people attended the meeting, representing 34 member libraries; and 67 library trustees were present.

Before any motions were made, the president reminded everyone that voting members are the trustees present and asked them to stand when making a motion.

Motion 1: President Nancy Bauder asked for a motion to accept the minutes from last year's annual meeting of October 13, 2010.

Pioneer Library System trustee, John Zornow so moved, seconded by Carolyn Meisel, Pioneer Library System and Wadsworth Library trustee. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

Nominations were opened to fill the trustee position of the Wyoming County representative Linda Morris whose term ends December 31, 2011.

Motion 2: Mary Reagan on behalf of the Wyoming County Library Advisory Council, nominated Carolyn Lyons to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2012. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Motion 3: Harry Givelber, on behalf of the Central Library board of trustees, nominated Joanna Whelan to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2012. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Motion 4: President Nancy Bauder accepted a motion from Patrick Burns to adjourn the business meeting. It was seconded by Sam Shama. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Meeting adjourned at 6:37 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanne Hayes, Recorder Approved October 10, 2012