Minutes of the 17th Pioneer Library System Annual Meeting Wednesday, October 18, 2006 Steamboat Landing, Canandaigua, New York

The business meeting was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by PLS Board President Sandra Kushner. She introduced special guests: Joan Harrison, representing Senator Volker's office; Ted Fafinski, aide to NYS Assemblyman Joe Errigo; the evening's speaker Stephen Abram, Kathy Smith from Buffalo & Erie County Library System, Debby Emerson, Assistant Director, Rochester Regional Library Council; and Paula Smith, Director, Rochester Public Library/Monroe County Library System. Senator Nozzolio was expected to arrive. [Arrived after the business meeting] The Pioneer Library System Trustees were then introduced: representing Wayne County, Marianne Hunt and Dixie Prittie; representing Ontario County, Pat Ayres and Sandy McGavern; representing Wyoming County, Dick Harrison and Sandy Kushner; and representative of the Central Library, Rita Reissig. The PLS trustee present representing Livingston County was Kathleen Brown. Trustee Pradeep Jangbari was unable to attend.

Richard Harrison gave the attendance report. 32 member library directors, and 133 library trustees, library staff, friends and other supporters of libraries, for a total attendance of 165.

Before any motions were made, the president reminded everyone that voting must be by library trustees only.

Motion 1: Sandra Kushner asked for a motion to accept the minutes from last year's annual meeting of October 19, 2005. Pat Ayres (PLS) so moved, Dixie Prittie (PLS) seconded, and the **Motion carried**.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

Nominations were opened to fill the trustee positions of Sandra Kushner and Rita Reissig whose terms end December 31, 2006.

Motion 2: Beverly Pedlow, on behalf of the Wyoming County Public Library Advisory Council, nominated Linda Morris to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2007. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Motion 3: On behalf of the Central Library Board, Virginia Torruella nominated Nancy Bauder to serve a 5-year term beginning January 1, 2007. With no other nominations from the floor, the president declared the nominations closed. **Motion carried** with no opposition.

Motion 4: Sandra Kushner accepted a motion from Richard Harrison (PLS/ARC) to adjourn the business meeting. It was seconded by Rita Reissig (PLS). **Motion carried** with no opposition. Meeting adjourned at 7:05 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanne Hayes, Recorder Drafted October 18, 2006 Approved October 10, 2007